View Mobile Site
  • Bookmark and Share

Drought declaration covers most of state

Liberty 'contiguous' to disaster

POSTED: January 3, 2009 5:00 a.m.
ATLANTA - The U.S. Department of Agriculture has declared 146 of 159 Georgia counties a primary disaster area because of production losses due to prolonged drought and high temperatures.

The governor's office said Thursday that the designation is in response to Gov. Sonny Perdue's request last month.

Perdue says Georgia farmers have "significant economic losses due to the dry conditions in Georgia," and he is pleased that financial relief will be made available.

Twelve counties were named as contiguous disaster areas: Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Bulloch, Camden, Coffee, Glynn, Liberty, Long, Terrell, Ware, and Wayne.

The only county not covered by either designation is McIntosh

  • Bookmark and Share

Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Please wait ...