View Mobile Site

Schools seek mentors

  • Bookmark and Share

Play some games on the Courier
Search for valuable coupons and print them out
POSTED: October 11, 2007 5:03 a.m.
Bradwell Institute’s Pathways to Academic and Athletic Success club is seeking positive mentors to work with local middle and high schools to help make a difference in the academic achievement of economically disadvantaged students.
These students often don’t do well in school, according to recent statistics.
Although both Bradwell Institute and Liberty County High Schools offer tutorials to bolster test scores, PAAS aims to integrate academic achievement with emotional support and career development for the students in our community, starting with middle school and in some cases, elementary aged children.
“We believe this volunteer mentorship program, along with the already established tutorial programs can help make a difference overall academically and socially for our students,” Emmett Watkins, PAAS representative, said during a kick-off pep rally in late August.
To help get the students and community motivated, speaker and “Motivator of the Millennium” Keith L. Brown delivered a rousing address to the BI faculty and students. Pairing rhetoric with the latest in hip hop songs and dance moves, Brown kept the faculty and students entertained, while also giving them plenty of life lessons to ponder.
After the staff performed the “Cupid Shuffle,” the motivational team encouraged the students with the quote, “I’m possible, not impossible.”
Later in the evening, a similar message was delivered to a less than packed house of Liberty County residents.
“We would have liked to have more community involvement at the assembly because we realize it’s going to take a collaboration to make a difference. No one group can do it by themselves and that’s why we are encouraging parent and community participation,” Watkins said. “Now’s the time to be proactive and not reactive.”
Each school is seeking 10 mentors who believe education is a joint effort and responsibility among the school, the home and the community. Applications are available through the individual schools.
All local churches, organizations and community members are encouraged to help make this program a success.

School contacts

Bradwell Institute
Tamara Frazier - 876-8535 or tfrazier@liberty.k12.ga.us
Emmett Watkins- 876-8535 or ewatkins@liberty.k12.ga.us

LCHS
Bill Sutton - 876-4316 or bsutton@liberty.k12.ga.us
Kurt Warner - 876-4316 or kwarner@liberty.k12.ga.us

Lewis Frasier Middle
Jermaine Williams - 877-5140 or jwilliams@liberty. k12.ga.us
Kevin Fulghum - 877-5367 or kfulghum@liberty.k12. ga.us

Midway Middle
Glenda Layton - 884-6677 or glayton@liberty.k12.ga.us
Alvin Jackson - 884-6677 or ajackson@liberty.k12.ga.us

Snelson Golden Middle
Dr. Camilla Quarterman - 877-3112 or  cquarterman@ liberty.k12.ga.us
 

What others say about this article

  • Bookmark and Share

Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Most Popular

 

Please wait ...