View Mobile Site

State threatens late fees on boat registrations

Most popular today

  • Bookmark and Share

Play some games on the Courier
Search for valuable coupons and print them out

Courier Friends to Follow

POSTED: October 7, 2013 10:23 a.m.

SOCIAL CIRCLE ­— Georgia boat owners with expired registrations are encouraged to renew their boat decals before Oct. 24, when a new state law adding a $10 late fee for registration renewal after expiration will be implemented.  
“The 2013 legislature passed a new law that encourages timely registration,” said Dan Forster, Director of the Wildlife Resources Division. “Often, boat owners put off registration until just before July 4 or other major summer holidays, and the resulting rush create a backlog for all wishing to renew their registrations and for persons trying to register a new boat to use for the holidays. This new law will help encourage boat owners to register throughout the year, resulting in better service for all.”   
Boat registrations are good for three years and expire on the last day of the owner’s birth month in the third year of registration. The new law adds a $10 fee if the registration renewal is mailed or completed by telephone or using the online registration after the expiration date.  This requirement will be enforced beginning Oct. 24.
In an effort to notify boat owners about their expiring registrations, the Wildlife Resources Division mails a renewal notice the first week of the month before expiration (approximately 55 days in advance). Registration-renewal notices mailed Sept. 1 for Oct. 31 boat expirations will have a notice about the new late fee.  
This law also allows new owners of used boats that have an existing Georgia registration to receive three full years of registration at transfer and eliminates the transfer fee. This transfer provision also begins Oct. 24.
“This new transfer provision giving three full years of registration at transfer will save money for most boat owners,” Forster said.  
New boat registrations and transfers of ownership for boats with existing Georgia registrations may be done by mail or telephone at 1-800-366-2661. The late fee does not apply to ownership transfers or new Georgia boat registrations.
Boat registration renewals may be returned with renewal form by mail or telephone at the aforementioned number or going to www.GoBoatGeorgia.com/boating/registration.  
Owners of Georgia boats must notify DNR within 15 days if their address changes from that shown on their boat registration card, or if they sell their boat. Address changes and notification of boat sale may be done by calling the above number. Boat owners also can change their addresses by logging into their customer account at www.GoBoatGeorgia.com/boating/registration.

 

What others say about this article

  • Bookmark and Share

Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

 

Featured Video


Please wait ...