View Mobile Site
  • Bookmark and Share

Harris named 2-AAAAAA top offensive player

POSTED: November 30, 2017 3:36 p.m.
File photo by Charles Smith /

Bradwell's Kevin Harris was as good as advertised in 2017, running for 1,691 yards and 16 touchdowns to help the Tigers finish 6-4 in coach Ross Couch's first season. In turn, Region 2-AAAAAA coaches named Harris the region's top offensive player.

View Larger

Bradwell Institute’s Kevin Harris was one of Georgia’s top high school running backs in 2017.

Earlier this week, Harris was named Offensive Player of the Year in Region 2-AAAAAA by the region’s football coaches.

Harris, a junior who rushed for 1,691 yards and 16 touchdowns led the region in total yards, yards per game (169.1) and rushing TDs. He finished the regular season as the second-leading rusher in Class AAAAAA and was No. 6 out of running backs in all classifications.

Also earning All Region honors for Bradwell were first-team picks Cameron Ivey-Young, a senior offensive lineman, senior defensive linemen Curvontae Bryant and K.J. Milner, senior linebacker Andrew Rafferty and senior defensive back David Spalding.

Honorable mention picks included junior quarterback Vencent Gilbert, senior lineman Keon Williams, sophomore lineman De’Leon Madria and senior wide receiver O’brien Nobles.  

Juniors Brendan Brittingham,  Ke’Ron Mason and A.J. Jones were honorable mention on the defensive team. Brittingham and Jones are defensive lineman, while Mason is a linebacker.

 The Tigers went 6-4 in 2017 in Coach Ross Couch’s first season, improving from 3-6-1 in 2016.


2017 All Region 2-AAAAAA team:

Coach of the Year Rocky Hidalgo, Glynn Academy

Overall POY Jaylen Jackson - Brunswick - Senior - WR/CB

Offensive POY Kevin Harris - Bradwell - Junior - RB

Defensive POY Hunter Hall - Glynn Academy - LB

1st Team Offense  

QB Jamarius Stevens - Brunswick - Sr

QB Randon Jernigan - GA - Sr

RB Maurice Smith - RHHS - Sr

RB Toot Johnson - ECHS - Sr

RB Caine Crews - GA - Sr

WR Sam James - RHHS - Sr

WR Alonzo Brown - Brunswick - Sr

WR DJ Whitfield - Brunswick - Sr

WR DeMario Gant - ECHS - Sr

TE Andrew DeLaney - GA - Sr

TE Samari Westbrook - ECHS - Sr

OL Skylar Aguilar - RHHS - Sr

OL Bennett DeLaney - GA - Sr

OL Michael Richard - ECHS - Sr

OL Cameron Ivey-Young - BI - Sr

OL Warren McClendon - Brunswick - Jr

OL John Cano - Brunswick - Sr

Ath Aaron Bedgood - RHHS - Jr

Ath Zebrandon Gant - ECHS - Sr


1st Team Defense

DL Marlon Taylor - GA - Jr

DL Curvontae Bryant - BI - Sr

DL George Mincey - Brunswick - Sr

DL Joseph Solomon - ECHS - Jr

DL KJ Milner - BI – Sr

LB Nico DeCosta - RHHS - Sr

LB JaGaryon Markus - Brunswick - Sr

LB Kam Futch - Brunswick - Sr

LB Andrew Rafferty - BI - Sr

LB EJ Thomas - GA - Jr

LB David Murray - GA - Sr

DB Edwin Scroggins - ECHS - Sr

DB Marvin Dallas - GA - Sr

DB David Spalding - BI - Jr

DB Aubrey Williams - Brunswick - Sr

DB Patrick Fulton - GA - Sr

DB Tevin Small - Brunswick - Sr

P Jack Podlesny - GA - Sr

K Joseph Petrino - RHHS – Sr



Honorable Mention


RHHS Lachlan Holt - Jr; Kasey Green - Sr; Collin Blaschke - Sr; Justin Jeffery - Sr; Matt Daniel - WR/P - Jr

BHS Ty Henson - Sr; Malik Austin - Sr; Shaq Robinson - Sr; Ben McCloud - Sr; AJ Kirkland - Jr; Brent Hall - Jr

GA Nolan Grant - Soph; Quantavious Bostic - Jr; Josh Anderson - Sr; Shane Wells - Jr; Tyler Grant - Sr

ECHS Chandler Hiney - Jr; Carson Hunt - Sr; Trevon Wilkenson - Sr; Jerid Stokes - Jr

BI Vencent Gilbert - Jr; Keon Williams - Sr; De'Leon Madria - Soph; O'Brien Nobles - Sr



RHHS Ruii Hernandez - Jr; Andrew Purcell - Sr; DeAndre Joyce - Sr; Quinton Lavant - Sr; Will Huffstutler - Sr; DJ Lewis - Sr; Ronald Fuselier - Jr; Michael Freightman - Jr

BHS Sharrod Frazier - Sr; Justin Akra - Soph; Shawn Ward - Sr; Stacey Young - Jr

GA Drez Wilcox - Soph; James Dyal - Soph; Tyshaun Lang - Jr; Byron Bacon - Soph; Shaun Bravo - Soph

ECHS Demonte Lee - Sr; Willie Ferrel - Soph; Cullen Wake - Sr; Andrew Delapenia - Jr; Calvin Lorry - Sr; Anthony Johnson - Soph; Ryan Sapp - Sr; Zach Thomas - Soph

BI Brendan Brittingham - Jr; Ke'Ron Mason - Jr; AJ Jones - Jr

  • Bookmark and Share

No comments have been posted. Log in or Register to post a comment.

Login to post a comment

You must be logged in to post comments. Login › encourages readers to interact with one another. We will not edit your comments, but we reserve the right to delete any inappropriate responses.

To report offensive or inappropriate comments, contact our editor.

The comments below are from readers of and do not necessarily represent the views of The Newspaper or Morris Multimedia.


Please wait ...