By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Local elected to district Legion offices
Placeholder Image

During their recent convention, the members of the first district of the American Legion elected the following legionnaires to fill offices for the 2011-12 membership year:

District commander
• George Walker from Post 154, Tybee Island

District senior vice commander
• Greg MacDougal from Post 27, Richmond Hill

District junior vice commanders
• Richard Claxton from Post 103, Swainsboro
• Alvin Schmitt from Post 321, Midway
• Matt Dillon from Post 168, Hinesville
• Chuck Bolton from Post 154, Tybee Island

• Deborah Kessler from Post 135, Savannah

Judge Advocate
• Joe Harmon from Post 188, Millen

Finance officer
• Dennis Fitzgerald from Post 321, Midway

Additionally, the membership named Scotty Nasworthy from Post 103 in Swainsboro the first district legionnaire of the year for 2010-11.
Also, Dennis Fitzgerald from Post 321 was named first district firefighter of the year for 2010-11.

Sign up for our e-newsletters