By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Rotary Club elects 2017-18 officers
Rotary Pic
Rotarian Jeff Ricketson presents pin to his wife, Michele Ricketson, who is outgoing Rotary Club president, as newly elected president Carla Schreihofer and member Hasit Patel look on. - photo by Photo provided.

The Hinesville Rotary Club last week elected new officers for 2017-18 and celebrated Rotary Awareness month at its weekly meeting.

The club members elected Carla Schreihofer as president, Jack Standard as president-elect, Teresa Winn as secretary, Barbara Martin as treasurer and Leigh Smiley as membership coordinator. Current President Michelle Ricketson, whose term ends this summer, becomes the immediate past president.

"The year has flown by with great support and activities," Ricketson said, reviewing events such as the annual fishing tournament that raised over $14,000 for charity, putting pollution warnings on storm drains and the fourth annual Gingerbread Competition. "The fishing tournament was a tremendous success. We’ve had an incredible year, and I hope you’ve learned more about being a Rotarian — service above self."

The club was chartered in 1977 and is part of Rotary International, an organization of more than 1.2 million business, professional, and community leaders.

The Hinesville club meets each Tuesday.

Sign up for our e-newsletters