By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
8 students represent Liberty County in 4-H Project Achievement competition
4H 1
Shown are Addison James (volunteer), Cheynelle James (volunteer), Jeremiah Maloney, Jalah Johnson, Jared Harriman (teen leader), Kirrah Moore, Frederick Moore, Ja’Nai Gibbs, James VonWaldner, Janiel Norman, Chris Lawson, Jaylin Frasier, Conner Bowen, Madilyn Talley, Mahdyanna Castro, Colton Sherbine, Jared Johnson (volunteer), Danielle Von-Waldner, Daisy Clay (teen leader), Candis Henderson, Isabella Gillium, Erin Hendricks (4-H agent), and Gypsy Tart (4-H educator). Photos provided

On Saturday, March 11, 18 students from Liberty County Schools competed in the 4-H District Project Achievement Competition in Metter. Fourteen out of the 18 students who participated from Liberty County finished within the top three in their respective categories, highlighted by six first-place winners. This competition was open to all fourth-, fifth- and sixth-grade students in the county.

To compete, each student chose a project area, researched their topic, then wrote and presented a speech in front of an audience and judges. Each student attended workshops at the local UGA Extension office and worked with the 4-H staff to prepare and practice for the competition.

Liberty County’s participation in this competition more than doubled from last year, when it brought eight students to the competition. Liberty Elementary School had the most students represented in the competition from the county with eight participants. The other schools represented by Liberty County were Button Gwinnett Elementary (6), Lewis Frasier Middle School (1), Murray Elementary School (1), and Snelson Golden Middle School (2). In total, more than 300 students from 14 counties in southeast Georgia competed.

4-h 2
From left to right are teen leader Daisy Clay and Jaylin Frasier.
4-h 3
From top to bottom are: Jaylin Frasier, Kirrah Moore, Frederick Moore, Jalah Johnson, Ja’Nai Gibbs, Janiel Norman, James VonWaldner, Danielle VonWaldner, Madilyn Talley, Teagan McClarran, and Ciara Graham.
Sign up for our e-newsletters