By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Carter named Liberty County's 2008-09 Teacher of the Year
2008-09 Teacher of the Year: Liberty County Board of Education Chairwoman Lily Baker (left), 2008-09 Teacher of the Year Nicole Carter and Interim School Superintendent Harley Grove are shown. - photo by Submitted / Coastal Courier

Nicole Carter, fourth grade teacher at Waldo Pafford Elementary School, has been named the systemwide 2008-09 Liberty County Teacher of the Year.
Carter is team leader of the fourth grade faculty at WPE, and founder and editor of the school’s newspaper, the Wildcat Press.
Dorothy Cottom, WPE principal said she was particularly pleased that a creative, young teacher was receiving the award.
“She boosts us all,” Cottom said.
Carter herself was overwhelmed by the trophy, plaque, and awards, as well as the extra bonus of a donated Gateway computer for her personal use.
The Liberty TOTY is a member of Baconton Missionary Baptist Church and Delta Sigma Theta Sorority.
She has two children, Nicholas, 12, and Matthew, 8.
Carter will represent Liberty in the state Teacher of the Year program. Georgia’s Teacher of the Year Program  annually spotlights the teaching profession and recognizes outstanding public school teachers at the local and state levels.
The program is sponsored by the Georgia Department of Education. It is a prestigious awards program to focus attention on excellence in teaching.
The first Georgia Teacher of the Year was selected in 1971.

2008-09 Liberty County Teachers of the Year
- Kelly Blocker: Liberty County Pre-K Center
- Merilee  Cox: Button Gwinnett Elementary School
- Judy Hellgren: Frank Long Elementary School
- Kathleen Mary Nile: Jordye Bacon Elementary School
- Frank Anthony Kelso: Joseph Martin Elementary School

- Anitra B. Golden: Liberty Elementary School
- Constance Ford: Lyman Hall Elementary School
- Robert Brennan: Taylors Creek Elementary School
- Nicole Y. Carter: Waldo Pafford Elementary School
- LaShonda Milledge-Miller:  Lewis Frasier Middle School
- Roland Van Horn: Midway Middle School
- Avistine Y. Cook: Snelson Golden Middle School
- Rachel Hendrix: Bradwell Institute
- Yvonne Lambert: Liberty County High School

Sign up for our e-newsletters