By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Long County honors teacher of year
long teacher year wboard
Long County Teacher of the Year Kay Deloach, front center, poses with members of the board of education at their meeting last week. - photo by Photo provided.

Smiley Elementary School’s Kay Deloach was announced as the system’s teacher of the year during the Sept. 19 Long County Board of Education met.

Deloach took pictures with Superintendent Dr. Robert Waters and members of the board. Smiley Principal Lisa Long was also on hand.

Several new teachers were also introduced at the meeting. Smiley Elementary’s new faculty are Tiffany Baggs, Marlayna Bryant, Melanie Ellison, Raegin Bryant, Ashley Deal, Quiniqua Hampton, Ashlee Lynn, Kayleigh McCullough and Mary Winter. Walker’s Elementary’s are Tiffany Earl, Gathia Lewis, Nicole Seeney, Tiffanie Durrence, Carla Gregory, Juanita Jimenez, Cindy Sheffield, Danielle Strickland, Latoya Coker and Alisa Whiteman.

A memorandum of understanding between the BOE and the Development Authority was discussed.

The October board meeting originally scheduled for Oct. 10 has been pushed back to Oct. 17 because of Columbus Day.

Superintendent Dr. Robert Waters reported that board members had completed required training for the year.

"You have been good about going to training and learning the school business," he said.

Sign up for our e-newsletters