By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Students earn academic honors
0609 Ayonna James
Bradwell Institute graduate Ayonna James has been named a Comcast Leader and Achiever

Recent Bradwell Institute graduate Ayonna James has been named a Comcast Leader and Achiever. James will receive a $1,000 scholarship for college. The Comcast program provides one-time $1,000 scholarships to students who strive to recognize their potential, are catalysts for positive change in their communities, are involved in their schools and who serve as models for their fellow students.

Sapp selected for CSU honors scholarship
COLUMBUS — Shaunquelle Sapp of Ludowici, an entering freshman at Columbus State University, has been selected to receive a CSU honors program scholarship for 2013-14. Sapp, a graduate of Bradwell Institute, plans to major in psychology.

Liberty students graduate from Altamaha Tech
Altamaha Technical College held its spring graduation ceremony June 1 at the Wayne County High School Auditorium in Jesup. The following students from Liberty County were recognized for completing the requirements in their respective programs:
Cosmetology diploma — Janet Rodriguez
Technical certificate of credit    — Air-conditioning electrical technician: Michael A. Ferguson; air-conditioning repair specialist: Michael A. Ferguson; air-conditioning technician assistant: Michael A. Ferguson; automotive chassis technician specialist: Donald R. Bryant and Glenn D. Perkins; automotive climate-control technician: Donald R. Bryant and Glenn D. Perkins; automotive engine-performance technician: Glenn D. Perkins; automotive engine-repair technician: Glenn D. Perkins; health-care assistant: Sarah N. Barrett, Yolanda S. Britton and Carrie B. Quarterman; electrical—electronic-systems technician: Donald R. Bryant; nurse aide: Carrie B. Quarterman.

Area students make CSU president’s list
COLUMBUS — The following Columbus State University students, who originally are from Hinesville, made the president’s list for the 2013 spring semester:
• Esther Holliday, majoring in music performance
• Ruth Holliday, majoring in music
• Rayonna Phillips, majoring in pre-nursing
•Briana Rice, majoring in early childhood education
The president’s list recognizes students who have achieved a semester grade-point average of at least 3.8.

Sign up for our e-newsletters