By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Election results late to have results
vote 1
Voter turnout: Liberty County Voter Registration Office staffer Elaine Johnson works her way through a list of residents who signed in before Friday’s 5 p.m. deadline ending advanced voting week, as a lobby full of voters wait to hear their names called. - photo by Photo by Andrea Washington

Most polls across Liberty County closed at 7 p.m. Tuesday, but reported delays and a heavier than expected turnout in Hinesville pushed voting at the Shuman Center to nearly 9, according to people at the scene.

People who were in line at 7 were allowed to vote.

Vote machines at that precinct were still being processed at 9:30 and because of that results had not been released at the registrar's office, officials there said. 

Results will be posted here Wednesday morning.

Here’s what we voted on:

Countywide, including in cities
Two homestead exemption questions were approved in the General Assembly as local legislation but require voter approval. Both would exempt minor improvements and repairs (5 percent of the property value) from increased property tax assessments. One addresses the exemption for the school board’s ad valorem tax and the other addresses the exemption for county taxes.

There is one special election. It asks whether Sunday sales of alcohol should be allowed. Regulation of the sales would be left up to the city council. Most supporters have said the council would limit sales to restaurants.
Mayor: Voters will decide between Billy Kitchings, Bob Pirkle, Sampie Smith and Jim Thomas.
District 1: incumbent Charles Frasier and Robert Robbins
District 2: Bobby Ryon
District 3: incumbent David Anderson Sr., Yong Lee and Bonita Smith
District 4: Keith Jenkins, incumbent Jack Shuman and Eric Thomas
District 5: Peter Jones, incumbent Kenneth Shaw and Angela Wilson

Mayor: incumbent Henry Frasier Sr. and Daisy Pray
Post 1: incumbent Patricia Green and Charlie Richarson
Post 2: Carrier Anderson and incumbent Charlie Anderson
Post 3: incumbent Larry Baker and Sarah Betty Hayes
Post 4: incumbent Luciria Lucky Lovette and Vincent Pray
Post 5: incumbent James Hendry and Lillie James Winn

Mayor: incumbent Thomas Hines and Roger Todd
City Council: (top three vote-getters elected) Nancy Bezanson, Douglas Burgess, Amanda Cox, incumbent Carl Easton and incumbent Wilma Gaskin

Mayor: Bill Austin
City Council: (top four vote-getters elected) Elton Brown Sr., Dennis Fitzgerald, incumbent Modibo Kadalie, David Miller, incumbent Tommy Williams Sr. and John Young.

Sign up for our e-newsletters