By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Flemington, Midway mayors decided
Seven vying for four Midway Council seats
Placeholder Image
All of the races in the Nov. 2 municipal elections in Flemington and the key race in Midway have been decided.
They were decided during candidate qualifying over the past week. When the sign-up ended Friday, only the incumbents in Flemington had filed the necessary paperwork.
In Midway, incumbent council member Clemontine Washington, who has recently served as mayor pro tem, was the only candidate signed up to run for mayor. She will replace incumbent Don Emmons, who served one term and who said he was stepping aside to slow his life down.
There will be races for seats on the Midway Council, which has four seats and seven candidates. There will be at least two new people in those seats. Besides Washington, veteran Councilman Henry O. Stevens has said he is not seeking re-election.
The incumbents seeking re-election are Levern Clancy Jr. and Jim Woods. The political first-timers are Stevens’ son, Henry O. Stevens Jr., Rose Brown, Terry Doyle, Melice Hamilton and Curtes Roberts.
In Flemington, Mayor Sandra Martin has signed up for her what will be her fourth four-year term. The six council members, Palmer Dasher, Charles Richardson, Gail Evans, Donnie Smith, Paul Hawkins and Dotty Bailey Fermin, who served the past four years, are the only people to sign up for those posts.
There have been instances when municipalities call off elections when there are no contests for seats. It is not known if Flemington will consider such a move.
Like the mayors, both cities’ council members serve at-large. So if more candidates qualify than there are seats on the council, winners are determined by the vote numbers per candidate. In Midway, for example, the top four vote-getters among the seven candidates will be elected.
The new terms will start at the first of next year.

Sign up for our e-newsletters