By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Graduation 2010: Long County
Grad Pic 1
Class President Lewis Richardson welcomes everyone to the LCHS 2010 Graduation. - photo by Photo by Mike Riddle
LUDOWICI — Long County High School had its 2010 graduation ceremony Friday and had 128 students receive diplomas.
The ceremony was at Veterans Field and began with class Secretary LaShana Howard conducting the invocation.  Class Parliamentarian Tyler Forham led the crowd in saying the pledge of allegiance and then Abby Stanley sang the national anthem.
After this, class President Lewis Richardson welcomed everyone and reminded his classmates of many memories they enjoyed as members of the Blue Tide. He challenged the class to do their best in the future.
“It’s not about who you are now, but about who you’re going to become...remember to take in all the wisdom and all of the guidance that you can in the future,” Richardson said.
The salutatory address was given by Linda Stephens. The honor graduate  reminded her fellow students of things their teachers had done to them as students.
 “Remember Mr. Brace saying, ‘stop popping that gum’ and like Mr. Grimes telling the class to be quiet by counting down three, two, one,” she said.
“It is time for us to move on, we’ve paid our dues as high school students, and its time for us to leave our parents houses...then our impact will be large and diverse.”
The valedictorian address was given by Jonathan Groover, who praised the 2010 class’ achievements by citing that they had been the first class to exceed AYP standards for three years and a row and had more honor graduates than any other class in the history of the school.
Following Groover, LCHS Principal Dr. Dolores Mallard and county Superintendent Dr. Robert Waters certified and accepted the class as graduates. Then Assistant Principal Scotty Hattaway began calling the students forward to receive their diplomas,
After diploma presentations, Hattaway then led the crowd in a moment of silence honoring the late Jerod Austin Wagner, who was a member of the 2010 class, but who died in 2007.
Class Vice President Tommy Freeman gave the farewell speech.
“For us there has always been another day, another semester, another season at LCHS, but tonight is different,” Freeman said. “We now have to grow our own roots and stand on our own two feet, and chose our own path.”
Honor graduates were Jennifer Arnold, Kamaren Dansby, Stephanie Dent, Nickolas Garcia, Jonathon Groover, Shelby Hague, Tevin Hampton, Cherissa Hewitt, Ebony Hill, Heather Holder, Caela Larochester, Elizabeth Lowe, Keith Miller, Haley Owens, Keenan Pacut, Jennifer Pierre, Jessica Pierre, Jennifer Smith, Linda Stephens, and Maxianne Tria.

Sign up for our e-newsletters