By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
LCDA nomination startles officials
Placeholder Image
When the Liberty County Commissioners met recently to fill seats on various boards, authorities and committees, they were apparently surprised by a development authority nomination.
The first name recommended for the vacant LCDA slot was Paul Krebs. Krebs is a former member of the authority, but is best known now as foreman of the grand jury that issued scorching presentments highly critical of the LCDA and other bodies. Visit
Hearing the nomination of Krebs, Commissioner Kenny Fussell, an ally of LCDA Chairman Allen Brown, said, “That’s it? What do we do now?”
Commissioners Connie Thrift and Marion Stevens, members of the three-commissioner panel that makes the nominations, voted to appoint Krebs. Commissioner Pat Bowen was absent from the vote. The minutes record three votes against the nomination, although observers who were present say there was some confusion. Reported voting “no” were Commissioners Eddie Walden, Donald Lovette, Fussell and Chairman John McIver.
With the Krebs’ nomination out of the way, five commissioners then voted to reappoint Brown to the LCDA seat. Stevens voted “no,” and Bowen was not voting.
Among other appointments, members of the fire authority were named: James Parrish, Ralph Carmichael, Wendy Averett, Linda Ashcraft and Warren Waye.
John Henderson was named to continue to chair the citizens advisory committee; others appointed were James Brown, Gary Walker, Pilar Odria, Leah Poole, Gene Mitchell, Johnny Sellers, Kelly Wiggins, Phil Odom, James Johns and Marjorie Varnedo.
Maxine Fallin was named to fill the unexpired term of Bobby Dowd on the Department of Family and Children Services Board and Johnny Sellers was appointed to the Gateway Mental Health Board.
No members have yet been named to the blue-ribbon panel Chairman John McIver has called for to oversee Liberty Regional Medical Center.
Sign up for our e-newsletters