By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Long Co. newcomers encouraged to attend meetings
Placeholder Image

The U.S. Census Bureau reported that from 2010-12, Long County was the fifth-fastest growing county in the nation. With new people coming into the county, many are unfamiliar with the local governing bodies and when they meet.  
New residents or visitors who want to find out what is going on in the community are encouraged to attend a meeting by Long County Board of Commissioners, the Board of Education or the Ludowici City Council.
• The Long County Board of Commissioners meets at 7 p.m. on the first Tuesday of each month for its regular meeting and at 9:30 a.m. on the third Tuesday for a work session. Both open meetings are held at the Long County Courthouse, 459 S. McDonald St. in Ludowici. Robert Long, who represents District 2, or the Rye Patch and Oak Dale communities, is chairman. Vice Chair Kent Hall represents District 4, or north Ludowici. Other commissioners are Dwight Gordon, who represents District 5, or the Tibet community; Gerald Blocker, who represents District 1, or the Beard’s Creek and Sand Hill communities; and Willie Thompson, who represents District 2, which is south Ludowici. For more information, go to or call 912-545-2143.
• The Long County Board of Education meets at 6 p.m. on the second Monday of the month at 468 S. McDonald St. Janet Watford who represents District 4, is board chairwoman. Vice Chairwoman Julie Dawson represents District 5. Other members are Dennis DeLoach, who represents District 1; Dr. Carolyn Williamson, who represents District 2; and Florence Baggs, who represents District 3.  There are four schools in the county: Long County High School, Long Middle School, Walker Elementary School and Smiley Elementary School. Dr. Robert Waters is the superintendent. For more on the school system, go to or call 912-545-2367.
• The Ludowici City Council meets at 6 p.m. every second Tuesday of the month at city hall, 47 Caison Road NE.  James Fuller is mayor. Councilmembers are Mary Hamilton, who represents District 1; Mark Chesser, who represents District 2; Jim Fuller Jr., who represents District 3; Kathy Phillips, who represents District 4; and Gwen Davis, who represents District 5.  For more information, call city hall at 912-545-9611.

Sign up for our e-newsletters