By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Primary ballot set in Long County
Jeff Jones
Brunswick businessman Jeff Jones is one of two Republicans seeking the 167th District seat in the Georgia House of Representatives. - photo by Photo provided.

With qualifying having ended, the official ballot for the May 20th Republican and Democratic parties’ primaries and the nonpartisan election has been set.
Though many of the races will not be decided until November’s general election, the state House of Representatives 167th District race will be decided with the primary because the two Republican candidates are the only ones running for the office.
Brunswick businessmen Jeff Jones and Tony Thaw seek to replace Rep. Jeff Chapman, who is running for the U.S. House 1st Congressional District seat being vacated by Jack Kingston of Savannah. Kingston is running for the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by Saxby Chambliss.  
The 167th District includes portions of Glynn, McIntosh and Long counties.
Here are the contested races on the May 20 ballot:
• U.S. Senate primaries — Paul Broun, Karen Handle, David Perdue, J.P. Gingrey, Derrick Grayson, Arthur Gardner and Kingston are seeking the Republican nomination for Chambliss’s seat. Democrats Todd Robinson, Michelle Nunn, O’ Steen Miles and Branko Radulovacki are running their party’s nomination.
• U.S. House primaries — Republicans running for the state’s 1st Congressional District are Buddy Carter, Darwin Carter, Earl Martin, John McCallum, Robert Johnson and Chapman. For the Democrats, Brian Reese, Marc Smith and Amy Tavio seek their party’s nomination.
• Governor — Republicans John Barge and David Pennington III are hoping to oust incumbent Nathan Deal, who is seeking re-election. Meanwhile, on the Democratic side, Jason Carter has no opposition in the primary.
• Georgia Secretary of State — Democrats Gerald Beckum and Doreen Carter are squaring off to face incumbent Secretary of State Brian Kemp, who is unopposed in the Republican primary.
• State Insurance Commissioner —Democrats Keith Heard and Elizabeth Johnson are seeking their party’s favor. The winner will face Republican incumbent Ralph Hudgens, who is unopposed in that party’s primary.
• State School Superintendent —Richard Woods, Kira Willis, Fitz Johnson, Nancy Jester, Allen Fort, Sharyl Dawes, Mike Buck, Ashley Bell and Mary Bacallao make up a large Republican field. The Democrats have several candidates as well; Tarnisha Dent, Marion Freeman, Jurita Mays, Alisha Morgan, Rita Robinzine and Valarie Wilson are running to be the state’s top educator.
•Public Service Commissioner — Douglas Kidd, Charles Lutz and incumbent Lauren McDonald make up the candidates in the Republican primary.
All other candidates on the primary ballot are unchallenged.

Sign up for our e-newsletters