By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Sheriffs being opposed in upcoming elections
Long County has most contested races

Editor's note: This article has been revised to reflect the following correction, which will appear in Wednesday's paper. Incumbent Long County Sheriff Craig Nobles is a Democrat. He will face a Democratic challenger, Shane Middleton, in the May primary election and a Republican, Timothy Works in the November general election. Nobles' party affiliation was incorrectly stated in a front-page article Sunday. The Coastal Courier regrets the error.

The smoke has cleared and candidates filed, so races have been defined at the county, state and federal levels.

The highest-profile local race is for Liberty County sheriff, where incumbent Steve Sikes, a Democrat, has drawn three Democratic challengers — Rondy Bacon, a deputy corrections officer with the Chatham County Sheriff’s Office; Georgia State Patrol Trooper William Bowman; and Hinesville fire Chief Lamar Cook — and a Republican, Savannah State University police Officer Robert Brooks.

Liberty County commissioner chairman, District 7, Democrat Donald Lovette will compete against Republican Thomas Mattingly.  Commissioner for District 4, Democrat Pat Bowen will face Republican Ted W. Eby.

The other contested Liberty County race is for chief magistrate judge, where incumbent Melinda Anderson has drawn a Democratic opponent, Kenneth Wells.

Long County

Long County has several contested races. Incumbent District 2 Commissioner Robert Long, a Democrat, has drawn two Democratic challengers, Charles Robert Brady and Wallace Shaw, and a Republican, Mike Riddle.
The District 1 commissioner has incumbent Gerald Blocker challenged by fellow Democrat David Richardson as well as Republican Brian Bray. In District 5, incumbent Dwight Gordon is challenged by fellow Democrat Bobby Walker and Republican Randall Klingensmith.

A third commission seat, District 3, will have Democrats Walt Pelton and incumbent Willie Thompson running.
Three BoE incumbents have drawn opposition. District 2 member Dr. Carolyn Williamson will face Arthur Davis. In District 4, Linda Sasser Deloach will take on incumbent Janet Watford. In District 5, incumbent Julie Dawson is being challenged by David Howard

For sheriff, incumbent Craig Nobles is being challenged by fellow Democrat Shane Middleton and Republican Timothy Works.

There also is a race for Probate Court judge. Marie Middleton is not seeking re-election. Bobby Harrison Smith, Teresa Odum and Rita Deen are running.

State and federal

At the state level, three candidates are vying for the state Senate District 19 seat being vacated by the retiring Tommy Williams, R-Lyons. They are Republicans Delvis Dutton of Glennville, Kevin “Bald Eagle” Parker of Uvalda and Blake Tillery of Vidalia.

State Representative District 167 has Republican incumbent Jeff Jones challenged by Democrat Steve Reighard.

At the federal level, incumbent U.S. Sen. Johnny Isakson, R-Ga., has drawn two Republican challengers, Derrick Grayson of Redan and Mary Kay Bacallao of Fayetteville, as well as four Democrats, Jim Barksdale of Atlanta, Cheryl Copeland of Hiram, John F. Coyne III of Alpharetta, and James Knox of Evans.


The following incumbents are not challeneged. Party affiliation is not listed if the seat is nonpartisan:

U.S. representative, District 1: Buddy Carter (Republican)
State Senate, District 1: Ben Watson (Republican)
State representative, District 164: Ron Stephens (Republican)
State Representative, District 168: Al Williams (Democrat)
Atlantic Judicial Circuit, Superior Court Judge (two seats): Charles Paul Rose Jr. and Robert L. Russell
Liberty County commissioners, District 5: Gary Gilliard (Democrat)
Liberty commissioners, District 6: Eddie J. Walden (Democrat)
Liberty clerk of Superior Court: Linda Thompson (Democrat)
Liberty coroner: Reginald L. Pierce Sr. (Democrat)
Liberty probate judge: Nancy Kitchings Aspinwall (Democrat)
Liberty tax commissioner: Virgil M. Jones (Democrat)
Liberty BoE, District 1: Verdell D. Jones
Liberty BoE, District 2: Carolyn R. Carter
Liberty BoE, District 3: Carol Guyett
Liberty State Court judge: Leon M. Braun Jr.
Liberty solicitor: Jeffery N. Osteen (Democrat)
Long County commissioners, District 4: Clifton L. Deloach (Republican)
Long clerk of Superior Court: Sherry Long (Democrat)
Long coroner: Emmett M. Patterson Jr. (Democrat)
Long tax commissioner: Becky Fowler (Democrat)
Long BoE, District 1: Dennis Deloach
Long BoE, District 3: Florence O. Baggs
Long State Court judge: Jeffery L. Arnold

Sign up for our e-newsletters