By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Students, teachers earn honors
WEB Long student awards
Walker Middle School students show off the $25 gift cards they received for good behavior. The WMS recipients were among a group of many students and teachers who recently were recognized for outstanding achievement. - photo by Mikee Riddle

Students and teachers in the Long County school system recently were recognized for their achievements.

Long County High School English teacher Samantha Stanley recently received a $3,600 classroom-improvement grant from Samsung Mobile, BrainPoP, Turning Technologies and Turner Foundation Partners.  Stanley was one of 10 teachers in the country to be selected for the grant.  The purpose of the grant is to help educators develop 21st century classrooms and improve achievement by providing technology tools from multiple industry-leading companies.

Members of LCHS’ Health Occupations Students of America club recently attended the 2012 Georgia HOSA state leadership conference in Athens and brought back several awards. In the concepts of health care competition, the school’s HOSA bowl team placed fifth.  Members of the team were Arturo Caldera, Sara Parker, Josh Wasden and Kylie Yancey. 

Yancey was elected as the Region 5 HOSA representative. Also, Taylor Poole garnered an eighth-place finish.

In the recent Future Farmers of America’s supervised agriculture experience competition, Evan Strickland placed fifth in the region for his agricultural processing field of honey production presentation.  Strickland worked with two colonies of bees that have been producing honey for nearly a year.

According to LCHS student counselor Karen Swindell, Strickland’s goal is to increase the honey production during the next year in order to finish higher at next year’s competition.

At Walker Middle School, several students received $25 Walmart gift cards for good behavior.  Students who had not received a referral over the previous two nine-week periods were eligible to submit their names into a drawing for the gift cards. 

Winners were Jasmin Stanley, Amy Chihuahua, Mary Carmen Rafeal, Jasmine Yates, ChHyya Wright, Faith Porter, Sterling Leichty, Erin Ginder, Kyana Calhoun, Phillip Brewer, Cyrah Santana, Dayna Perez, Brenee Crawford, Justin Groover, Phillip Adams, Courtney McNeal, Andrew Davis, Kierra Cromatia, Chaise Williams and Kimberly Hall.

“All the students that come to school every day and give us their best need to be recognized; this is just one way that we can let them know we appreciate their efforts,” WMS Principal Heath Crane said.

Sign up for our e-newsletters