By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Swing states propel Trump to presidency
Vote logo

Republican Donald Trump now stands at 279 electoral votes and will become the 45th president of the United States.

In addition to winning Georgia, Trump also won Pennsylvania, Ohio, Florida, North Carolina and Wisconsin. Michigan and Arizona remain too close to call, but Trump has already crossed the 270 threshold needed for the presidency.

Democratic nominee Hillary Clinton conceded the race early Wednesday morning, but has not said anything publicly yet. Media reported that President Obama reached out to Trump to offer his congratulations and invited him to the White House to discuss the transition.

Republicans also maintained control of the U.S. Senate and the U.S. House of Representatives.

Trump will be inaugurated Jan. 20, 2017.

Sign up for our e-newsletters