By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
New grand jury empaneled
Placeholder Image
While the dust is still settling from the presentments of the February term grand jury, the newly empanelled September term grand jury is already at work, pursuing some of the same questions asked by its predecessors.
The new group, headed by foreman Danny Robles, is composed of Tommie Axon, Blanton Bacon, Ann M. Bean, Claudia H. Bryant, Yvonne B. Crooks, Bernadette D. Dasher, John R. Floyd, assistant foreman; James E. Gaulden, Leroy George Jr., Robert Gary Gilliard and Willie Graham.
Additional members are Maria A. Gregory, Marybel Laboy, Gretta F. Logan, Randy G. Mobley, Albert Odria, Carmen M. Ortiz, Anthony L. Sawyer, Donita T. Strickland, clerk; Janice C. Troha, Kathryn G. Walden, assistant clerk, and Donnie H. Walker.
Liberty County has two grand juries annually, each serving for a six-month term.
Grand jurors are chosen by a superior court judge from among persons who “have resided in the county for six months preceding the time of service, and who are the most experienced, upright and intelligent persons.”
Between 16 and 23 grand jurors are chosen, and the votes of at least 12 are required for an indictment or a presentment. Deliberations of grand juries are secret.
Sign up for our e-newsletters