By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Hunter classes offer options
Placeholder Image

SOCIAL CIRCLE — Those needing a hunter-education course before deer season have three options to make that happen.
The Georgia Department of Natural Resources’ Wildlife Resources Division offers an eight-hour online course, followed by a two-hour review or the 10-hour traditional classroom course.
“Because of the importance of the information learned in a hunter-education course, our agency has made efforts to meet the needs of many users,” WRD hunter-development program manager Walter Lane said. “The online courses offer more scheduling flexibility as they can be done at any time of day. And for those who prefer a traditional method, the classroom courses provide a face-to-face opportunity with instructors.”
The classroom course is free of charge. The online courses each require a fee, from $9.95 - $24.95, but all are “pass or don’t pay” courses.
Fees for these courses are charged by and collected by the independent course developer.
If the online course vendor fees are an obstacle, students can obtain a CD-ROM by contacting their local DNR law enforcement office.
Completion of a hunter-education course is required for any person born on or after Jan. 1, 1961, who:
• Purchases a season hunting license in Georgia.
• Is at least 12 years old and hunts without adult supervision.
• Hunts big game (deer, turkey, bear) on a wildlife management area.
The only exceptions include any person who:
• Purchases a short-term hunting license, such as the apprentice license or the three-day hunting and fishing combo license (as opposed to a season license).
• Is hunting on his or her own land, or that of his or her parents or legal guardians.
For more information, go to or call 770-761-3010.

Sign up for our e-newsletters