By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Qualifying for Senate, House seats ends Wednesday
Placeholder Image
Candidate qualifying for special elections to fill the unexpired terms of state Sen. Eric Johnson (District 1) and state Rep. Buddy Carter (District 159) will end at noon today.
Johnson resigned his seat last week to enter the gubernatorial race and Carter resigned his seat in the House to seek election to Johnson’s vacated seat in the Senate.
Carter, who has served as the District 159 representative since 2005, will run against Dr. Billy Hair in a special election to be held Nov. 3.
Former State Rep. Ann Purcell will run against Effingham County native Jesse Tyler, who qualified on Tuesday, for the 159th District House seat vacated by Carter. Tyler is stepping down as South Georgia campaign director for the John Oxendine for governor campaign to run for the now open 159th House District seat.
Secretary of State Karen Handel set a short candidate qualifying period, which started at 9 a.m. Monday, Sept. 21 and will end at noon today. The qualifying fee for candidates is $400.
The special election will be held Tuesday, Nov. 3. Polls will be open from 7 a.m.-7 p.m.
The election for Senate District 1 will occur in parts of Liberty and Chatham counties and in Bryan County. The election for House District 159 will occur in portions of Chatham and Effingham counties, according to the Secretary of State’s office.
These elections are non-partisan and no party primaries will be held. If a run-off election is needed, it would be held Tuesday, Dec. 1, according to Handel’s office.
Citizens must be registered to vote by Monday, Oct. 5, in order to participate in the Nov. 3 special election. Voters can register at the Liberty County Registrar’s Office on Commerce Street in downtown Hinesville, or go to the Secretary of State’s Web site at
Voters also can request an absentee ballot from the county registrar by the close of business Friday, Oct. 30. Absentee ballots must be returned to the county registrar’s office by the close of polls on election day.
Sign up for our e-newsletters