By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
State Senate gets new leader
Placeholder Image

ATLANTA -- The state Senate majority announced new leadership today during the Republican caucus elections today.

According to a release from the Senate Press Office, Sen. Tommie Williams (R-Lyons) has been nominated for president pro tempore, which will go to a full vote before the Senate on Jan. 12. Williams District 19 includes Long County and some of Liberty in the Gum Branch area.

Williams replaces Sen. Eric Johnson (R-Savannah), who has stepped aside to mount a campaign for lieutenant governor. Johnson's District 1 covers most of Liberty County.


"The upcoming session will be pivotal in Georgia's history as we make tough decisions to balance the budget, improve our economy, and provide essential programs and services to improve Georgians' daily lives," Williams said. "I'm honored and humbled to have been nominated by my colleagues to lead this distinguished body."


Sen. Chip Rogers (R-Woodstock) will serve as majority leader. Both Sens. Dan Moody (R-Alpharetta) and Mitch Seabaugh (R-Sharpsburg) were re-elected to their positions as majority caucus chairman and majority whip, respectively. Sen. Judson Hill (R-Marietta) will serve as vice caucus chairman. Sen. Bill Cowsert (R-Athens) will assume the role of caucus secretary.


The new leadership team will take office once the legislative session convenes on Jan. 12.

Sign up for our e-newsletters