By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Super speeder law takes effect Friday
Placeholder Image
Starting today, speed can really cost you.
Jan. 1 is when the new state Super Speeder Law goes into effect. And any high-risk drivers who ignore posted speed limits will be the first to feel the pinch.  
The law tacks on a $200 state fee for any driver convicted of speeding at 75-or-more on any two-lane roads, or convicted of speeding at 85-and-over anywhere in Georgia.  Those new fees are in addition to local fines already in effect where the speeding offense occurs.  
Under the provisions of the law, any driver convicted of violating HB160 will now be classified as a super speeder and subject to an additional fee. The new law, according to the Governor’s Office on Traffic Safety, is designed to get tough on high-risk drivers who’ve been endangering other motorists and ignoring warnings to slow down.
Failure to pay the Super Speeder fee results in an additional $50 fee and the suspension of the offender’s driving privileges and license.
Fees collected under the law will be used to help fund Georgia’s trauma care hospital system where approximately 63 percent of all trauma-care-patients are crash-related.
Learn more at .

Sign up for our e-newsletters