By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Cherokee Rose annual golf tournament marks 39 years
Placeholder Image

Cherokee Rose Golf Course hosted its annual club championship tournament last weekend, marking the event’s 39th successful year.

According to golf pro Ronny Mobley, the men’s champion is an eight-time winner and the women’s champion picked up her second consecutive title. Here are the complete results:



Champion, Travis Mobley 64-74=138

Second place, Dale Rowe 75-70=145

Third place, Robert Tiger Darby 74-77=151


Champion, Gail Poulsen 83-83=166

Second place, Angie Dixon 89-86=189


First flight

First place, Angel Cordero 73-83=156

Second place, Jeff Dennis 75-87=162

Third place, Ralph Dixon 82-80=162


Second flight

First place, Allen Crane 83-78=161

Second place, Leroy Strickland 78-87=165

Third place, Darrell Balance 81-86=167


Third flight

First place, Dennis Dasher 90-85=175

Second place, James Jones 92-84=176

Third place, Justin Whaley 90-90=180


Fourth flight

First place, Curtis Lee 94-91=185

Second place, Tim Blarton 96-92=188

Third place, Tracey Howard 95-94=189


Women’s first flight

First place, Beverly Rowe 96-88=184

Second place, Lynette Clark 94-95=189


Senior men’s champion, Johnny Smiley (no score provided)

Senior women’s champion Jan Umholtz (no score provided)

Sign up for our e-newsletters