By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
On striking the golf ball more than once
Graham Lewis - photo by Photo provided.

Question: Ralph and James are playing in their men’s association Saturday event. On the 18th hole, Ralph has a short pitch shot and decides to use his lob wedge. As he swings, his club strikes the ball twice, and it lands one foot from the hole.
James says, “That was a great shot, tap it in for a 75.” Ralph says, “Thanks, but I hit the ball twice during my swing.” What is the ruling, and what did Ralph shoot after tapping his ball in?
Answer: Ralph demonstrated that he is a gentleman and knows the ruling. He tells James that if a player’s club strikes the ball more than once in the course of a stroke, the player must count the stroke and add a penalty stroke, making two strokes in all. Ralph tapped in for a 76.
Tip of the Day: Many times, you are the only one who knows you should incur a penalty for doing something wrong under the rules of golf. You will enjoy the game more and become a better and more respected golfer if you take the responsibility of assessing the proper penalty.
As always, enjoy the game of golf while playing and practicing. Email me at with any questions. Also inquire about our Golf Academy’s continuous learning sessions and our junior camps.

Sign up for our e-newsletters