By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Long football places 2 players on All-Region
long 1
Dwayne Rowe (2) rushes for yardage during the opening game of the season for the Blue Tide . - photo by Dee McLelland, Publisher

The Long County Blue Tide football team will be looking for a fresh start for the 2021 season as they will hire a new head coach. Whoever takes over the reins will be coming with a host of talented players, a statement supported by a number of players being named to the 2020 Region 1-AAA All-Region Teams. 

On Tuesday, December 8, the team held its annual awards banquet and announced several team awards and region honors. 

Juniors Cameryn Johnson and Dwayne Rowe were both named to the Region 1-AAA First Team as wide receivers. Johnson led the Blue Tide in receiving yards (264), rushing yards (189), and touchdowns (6). 

The Blue Tide also placed four players on the Second Team and five were named to Honorable Mention. Junior kicker Chris Garcia, senior offensive lineman Jakobe Roberts, senior linebacker Jayven Williams, and junior defensive back Cole Moss all made the second team while sophomore offensive lineman Lane Edwards, sophomore defensive lineman Bryant Bleyman, senior linebacker Malachi Alberic, junior wide receiver Davion Henderson, and sophomore defensive back Tashawn Brown were all given Honorable Mention. 

The team also gave out several team awards at the banquet. 

Johnson was named team Offensive Player of the Year while Williams was named Defensive Player of the Year. Edwards won Offensive Lineman of the Year and Bleyman won Defensive Lineman of the Year. 

The Blue Tide also gave awards for Junior Varsity players of the year. Freshman running back Ahmari Douglas won the offensive award after accumulating over 500 total yards and seven touchdowns in four games while freshman linebacker Steven Wyatt won the defensive award by totaling 43 tackles, five sacks and an interception in four games. 

Moss, for the third year in a row, won the award for highest GPA on the team as he holds a 4.0 with a 99.9375 average. The four finalists for the award were separated by 1.0625 points 

Sign up for our e-newsletters