By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Roberson claims Cherokee Rose championship
Jordan Roberson
Photo by Dee McLelland Jordan Roberson tees off during the Cherokee Rose Country Club Championship this past weekend.

While several players looked to repeat their Cherokee Rose Country Club championships this past weekend, one new champion broke through.

Jordan Roberson outlasted the reigning Club Champion Patrick Edwards in a one-hole playoff after the two tied at 147 totals for the two days. Roberson shot a low-round for Saturday at 69 and then followed with a 78 and Edwards came back from a Saturday round of 72 and then Sunday’s 75.

Roberson parred the first hole in the playoff to capture the championship.

Also, Tammy Ballance won another Women’s Club Championship, Jan Umholtz captured the Senior Women’s Championship again and Dwayne Rye won his second Senior Club Championship.

Ballance captured her second straight Women’s Championship title by outlasting the championship field shooting rounds of 78-80 to beat Gail Poulsen (175) and Jessica Alvarado (183) and Annie Welborn (193).

In the Women’s 1st Flight, Umholtz captured the Women’s Senior Championship by shooting a total of (185) which bested Emma Strickland who finished second with a two-round total of (188). Toby Howard was third with a (190) and Susan Dickey (211).

Rye completed his second Senior Men’s Championship by coming back from a two-shot deficit to Bermuda Schwartz on Sunday firing a 3-under 68 for a 140 total to Schwartz’s 68-76 total of 146. It marked the second year that Rye and Schwartz finished in the top two positions. Rounding out the championship flight were Ed Dean in third at (151), Darryl Chandler third with (155), Louis Lopez (156) and Angel Cordero (157).

In the Senior Men’s 1st Flight, Jimmy Keel won with a two-day total of (158) barely edging out J.C. Connors at (160). Third place went to Rick Lovelady (161), Vern Cook (162), Jim Niksch (166) and Steve Welborn (169).

In the Senior Men’s 2nd Flight, Julian Hodges captured the title with a two-day total of (160), with Jerry Dickey second at (166). Finishing third was Charlie Barrientos (173), James Jones (180) and Arthur Stewart (195).

In the Senior Men’s 3rd Flight, Jake Umholtz shot consecutive rounds of 86 for a two-day total of (192) to take the win. Art Mathabel with second with (177), Rickey Strickland was third with (179). Phil Cerniglia was next with (182), Jon Holiman (186) and Jeff Pierce (198).

In the Championship Flight, Brandon Simmons finished second with a (151), Josh Olsen and Eddie Carr also finished at (151), Brandon Lopez (154) and Ronnie Brown (155), Dale Rowe (168).

In Men’s Championship 1st Flight, Will Bowman was second with a two-day total of (163), third was Eric Peterson with (165), Andy Kovalcin (166), Steve Wiggins (168), Tracey Howard (169), Daniel Dayuitis (175), Anthony Howard (179).

In Men’s Championship 2nd Flight, Casey Hale won the title with a (158), with Michael Sanders second with (179) and Micah Chandler third at (179). Finishing next were Martin Humphreys (185), Tom Egner (193) and Jon Deranleau (202). 

Sign up for our e-newsletters