By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Several Tide players make 2AA All-Region teams
Placeholder Image

Long County High School Blue Tide basketball player Jimmy Bacon was named co-player of the year for the 2008-09 All-Region 2-AA Team. Bacon shares the player of the year award with Wendell Williams of Appling County. As player of the year, Bacon made the first team along with fellow Tide teammate Justin Boyd.

Tide standout Ricky Rivera, who recently signed with Savannah State University, made the All-Region second team and Eli Guest and Donte Brown made the honorable mention team.

Neighboring McIntosh County had Buccaneers Joe Williams and Darries Robinson chosen for the first team. Lamario Dixon made the second team and Derrek Upshaw and Donterell Evans made the honorable mention team.

Lady Tide Brittany Mills made the girls’ All-Region squad first team. India Gamble Shanetral Quarterman, Shareka Turner and Caela LaRochester were named to the honorable mention team.

Lady Buccaneers Courtney Saunds made the second team and Jasmine Grovernor and Jessica Hernandez were named to the honorable mention team.


2008-09 boys’
2-AA All-Region Team


First Team

• Jimmy Bacon: co-player of the year, Long County

• Wendell Williams: co-player of the year, Appling County

• Joe Williams, McIntosh Academy

• Justin Boyd, Long County

• Quaysean Davis, Tattnall County

• Jibri Bryant, Benedictine

• Darries Robinson, McIntosh Academy


Second Team

• Lamario Dixon, McIntosh Academy

• Chris Walker, Tattnall County

• Ronald Eldell, Charlton County

• Ricky Rivera, Long County

• Chris Paulk, Appling County


Honorable Mention

• Eli Guest, Long County

• Andrei Hall, Jeff Davis

• Rashaun McArthur, Jeff Davis

• Joey Friess, Benedictine

• Derrek Upshaw, McIntosh Academy

• Anthony Wooding, Charlton County

• Bryant Smith, Brantley County

• Donterell Evans, McIntosh Academy

• Donte Brown, Long County

• Randy Clark, Pierce County

• Juston Moreno, Tattnall County


Girls First Team

• Kayla Dove: player of the year, Jeff Davis

• Ronnesha Smith, Pierce

• Lacie Dowling, Brantley

• Courtney Williams, Charlton

• Brittany Mills, Long

• Ashley Jones, Appling


Second Team

• Kaylee Higginbotham, Brantley

• Chelsea Grant, Pierce

• Courtney Saunds, McIntosh Co. Academy

• Jordan Wainwright, Brantley

• Kellie Bacon, Appling


Honorable Mention

• Jasmine Smith, Tattnall

• Abby Wilson, Brantley

• Alicia Thomas, Brantley

• Mallory Lee, Brantley

• Tiara Dasher, Charlton

• Randy Free, St. Vincent’s

• Hannah Burnsed, St. Vincent’s

• India Gambel, Long

• Shanetral Quarterman, Long

• Shareka Turner, Long

• Caela LaRochester, Long

• Jasmine Grovenor, McIntosh Academy

• Jessica Hernandez, McIntosh Academy

• Shantell Ramsey, Tattnall

• KiReshia Paulk, Appling

Sign up for our e-newsletters