By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Sizemore named area flag football player of the year
Tide place nine on all-region teams
Blue Tide logo

The Long County Blue Tide flag football team had a great second season in 2022 as the team finished 10-4, were runners-up for the region championship, and advanced to the quarterfinals of the state playoffs for the second year in a row.

On Monday, January 30, they brought their season full circle with their end of the year banquet where they announced the all-region teams. Overall, nine players were named to the 1A-4A Area 1 All-Region teams with junior quarterback Kyleigh Sizemore and head coach Paul Austin receiving individual honors.

Sizemore was named to the first team, and was also named Area 1 Player of the Year. She was one of the top passers in the state, finishing with 2,013 yards and 27 touchdowns and a quarterback rating of 113.9.

Joining Sizemore on the first team are sophomore running back Makinzie Moody and seniors Jaci Smiley and Melissa Vazquez.

Moody finished with 1,011 rushing yards and 13 touchdowns, rushing for 17.4 yards per carry. Vazquez was a force on defense, recording 51 tackles and creating several turnovers including her three-interception, two-touchdown performance against Brunswick on Senior Night.

Smiley played a pivotal role on offense as the center and also made key plays throughout the season, according to Austin. The head coach said that even though she had to share her yards, she was “the centerpiece to our offense” and “everything ran through her.”

Seniors Jada Young and Taylor Hodges and sophomores Yuridia Sellars and Yazmin Coronel were named to the second team while sophomore France Smith received honorable mention.

In two years, the Lady Tide have won 22 games, finished second in the region twice, and advanced to the quarterfinals of the state playoffs twice. Austin being named Coach of the Year despite falling short of the region championship speaks for itself.

Six of the nine honorees are returning for the 2023 season.

Sign up for our e-newsletters