By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Midway student wins National Achievement
Other honors also listed in story
Placeholder Image
The National Achievement Scholarship Program announced recently the names of more than 800 high school seniors who have won National Achievement Scholarships.
Kyana D. Morton of Midway won $2,500 to pursue his studies in genetics. This award is supported by NMSC, which conducts the National Achievement Scholarship Program.
Morton and the rest of the winners will receive scholarships totaling more than $2.5 million that may be used for undergraduate study at any regionally accredited U.S. college or university.
The program is a privately financed academic competition established in 1964 specifically to honor scholastically talented black American youth, and to provide scholarships to a substantial number of outstanding participants in each annual competition.
More than 140,000 students entered the 2007 program by requesting consideration when they took the 2005 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test as high school juniors.

MOUNT VERNON — Three Brewton-Parker College students from Hinesville were recognized during Honors Day ceremonies April 17 as a Dean’s Scholar for qualifying for the dean’s list at least five times out of the last seven semesters.
The are seniors Alvin Judge and Julie M. Hinton, and junior Alicia C. Wood. Provost Dr. T. Ronald Melton presented the honors.

The following students were named to the dean’s list at the Savannah College of Art and Design in Savannah for the winter quarter.
• Erynn Rebecca Hampton of Hinesville, major undecided.
• Rebecca Anne Dryden of Walthourville, fibers major.
Full-time undergraduate students who earn a grade point average of 3.5 or above for the quarter make the list.

Columbia College
The following students from this area have been named to the Columbia College dean’s list for the January session 2007:
Matthew J. Daniels, Mark Garrison, Tanisha P. Mulet and Heather M. Skorik, all of Fort Stewart; Kenneth L Ball, Christina A. Easton, Harold L. Flowers, Kenna C. Graham, Corinda L. Gray, Edward L. Horner, Darlene D. Leverett, Catherine E. Mincey, Ricardo Palafox, Kimberly M. Sachau and Jessica L Turco, all of Hinesville; and Annette M. Fernandez and Nara M. Yoshida of Midway.
To be named to the dean’s list a student must have completed 12 semester hours and achieved a grade point average of 3.5 or greater on a four point scale.

MACON — Three local residents have been named to the dean’s or president’s list at Mercer University for the fall 2006 semester.
• Krystal Starr Mehalko of Allenhurst, College of Liberal Arts, dean’s list
• Ashley N. Johnson of Hinesville College of Liberal Arts, president’s list
• James B. Bargeron of Midway School of Engineering, dean’s list.
Inclusion on the dean’s and president’s lists requires students go meet rigorous grade point average standards specific to their school within the University.

Georgia Southern
Natalie Lebron was named to the Dean’s list of Georgia Southern University this past February.
Lebron is studying international Business and is the daughter of Sandra Nunez of Hinesville.
Sign up for our e-newsletters