By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Early voting for primaries begins
Qualifying for sheriff starts June 28
Placeholder Image
Registered voters can avoid crowds at the polls July 20 by voting early in the primary election.
Early voting began Monday and ends Friday, July 16, said Liberty County Supervisor of Elections Ella Golden.
Voters can cast ballots early from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday through Friday at the Liberty County Registrar’s Office, 102 S. Commerce St. in downtown Hinesville. Midway residents may vote early at Midway City Hall from 8 a.m.-4 p.m. Monday-Friday until July 16, Golden said
There are six accepted forms of voter ID. Voters should bring a Georgia’s driver’s license, a valid state or federal government-issued photo ID, a valid employee photo ID from any local, state or federal government, a valid U.S. passport, a valid U.S. military photo ID or a valid tribal photo ID.
There are candidates striving to inch closer to winning state and federal seats in the primary election, as well as some local races being held next month.
Partisan races include those for Georgia governor, lieutenant governor and secretary of state, as well as attorney general, school superintendent and commissioners of insurance, agriculture and labor.
Democratic gubernatorial candidates include State Attorney General Thurbert Baker, Bill Bolton, Randal Mangham , Roy Barnes, Carl Camon, DuBose Porter and David Poythress .
The seven Republicans vying for governor in the July primary include Eric Johnson, Jeff Chapman, Nathan Deal, Karen Handel, Ray McBerry, John Oxendine and Otis Putnam.
Primary election candidates facing off for the U.S. Senate seat now held by incumbent Republican Sen. Johnny Isakson are Democrats R. J. Hadley and Michael Thurmond. The winner of the primary will face Isakson in November’s general election.
Likewise, U.S. Rep. (Dist. 1-R) Jack Kingston, the incumbent, will face Democratic challenger Oscar L. Harris II on Nov. 2.
The Liberty County election to fill district seats 4, 5 and 6 on the Liberty County Board of Education is a non-partisan race, Golden said. The district 7 seat for BOE chairperson is also up for grabs in the fall. The school board chairperson race is countywide.
Qualifying for the school board race will begin at 9 a.m. Monday, June 28, and end at noon, Friday, July 2. Golden said. The qualifying fee for school board district seats 4, 5 and 6 is $180, she said. The qualifying fee for district 7, the chairman’s position, is $256, according to Golden.
Running unopposed for county commission seats are incumbent commissioners Marion Stevens Sr.-Dist. 1, Donald Lovette-Dist. 2 and Connie Thrift-Dist. 3. All three are Democrats.
Liberty County will hold a special election for sheriff on Nov. 2, the supervisor of elections said. Long-time Liberty County Sheriff Don Martin died in late May and his widow, Polly Martin, was recently appointed as interim sheriff.
Qualifying for the special election will be held at the registrar’s office beginning at 9 a.m. Monday, June 28, and end at noon Friday, July 2, according to Golden. The qualifying fee for sheriff is $2,270.25.
“The last day to register to vote in the November election is Oct. 4,” Golden said.
For more information, call 912-876-3310.
Sign up for our e-newsletters