By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Long County High School holds senior banquet for 2008 class
MR banquet awards
Several of the seniors who received scholarships and awards. - photo by Photo by Mike Riddle
Long County High School held its 2008 Senior Banquet on May 22 at the school cafeteria. Many graduating seniors received awards for outstanding achievement.
Class president Stephanie Middleton welcomed the crowd packed into the cafeteria, class treasurer Meagan Phillips said the blessing, and the Junior Class Prom Committee served a meal.  
During the meal, a video highlighted different events and activities from throughout the 2007-2008 school year.
After the meal, senior advisor Sherry Lester introduced the night's keynote speaker, Dr. Barbara Christmas.
Lester informed the group that Christmas is a trustee of the Georgia Southern University Foundation, the PAGE Foundation and the American Educators Foundation. The senior advisor also noted that Christmas was the first woman to ever be elected to the Tattnall County School Board.
"I hope you never take for granted the education you have received here in Long County," Christmas said. "You now are taking the next step of your life to a very exciting time."
After Christmas closed, class vice president Danielle Bailey presented the guest with a gift basket.
Seniors also received gift baskets, followed by the recognition of the Beta Club and the Youth Advisory Council.
Some of the individuals who were honored included class valedictorian Heather Sullivan and class salutatorian Logan Crutchfield.
Honor Graduates included Stephanie Arnold, Brianne Page, La'Conya Cobb, Jamie Walker, Samantha Wilcox, Janelle Scott, Lioubov Grigorieva, Whetney Holden, Megan Phillips and Austin McGinn.
Several graduating seniors received scholarships. Among the recipients were LaíConya Cobb, Brianne Page, Ryan Simmons, Tyler Hall, Britt Horne, Brooke Manning, Heather Sullivan, Jessica Miller, DeAndre McCall, Sydney Gosseck, Janelle Scott, Bon Tria and Jamie Walker.
DeAndre McCall and Angel Wilson received Distinguished Athlete Awards; Heather Sullivan received the Musical Excellence Award, and Sydney Gosseck received Scholastic Excellence Award.    
After the awards were given out, Superintendent Dr. Edwin Pope thanked the cafeteria staff for the meal and all who helped organized and put the night together.

Sign up for our e-newsletters