By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
MLK observance gives five $1,000 scholarships
Sub MLKScholarship
Dr. Martin Luther King Observance Committee President the Rev. Alvin Jackson, center, stands with scholarship winners (left to right) Lua Cherra Mason, Banita Hines, Byron Miller, Angeliegh James and Deborah R. Garcia. - photo by Photo provided.

The Liberty County Dr. Martin Luther King Observance Committee recently awarded scholarships to five local high school students.

The scholarship recipients include Bradwell Institute’s Lua Cherra Mason, Angeliegh James, Deborah R. Garcia and Liberty County High School students Banita Hines and Byron Miller. The scholarships are each worth $1,000.

Sign up for our e-newsletters