By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Seven receive Hank White Scholarships
Jessica Harvey
Jessica Harvey - photo by Photo provided.
The committee for the Henry “Hank” White Memorial Scholarship fund recently announced the 2007 recipients of seven $1,000 scholarships.
The committee encourages graduating seniors from Bradwell Institute and Liberty County High School, as well as community members working on secondary degrees, to apply.
Applicants must write essays. And this year’s essay judges were  Nicole Carter, Nan Flowers, Faye Terry, Annie McCray, Dorothy Scott and Frances Smith.  
Two scholarships were awarded to graduating seniors at Liberty County High School; Byron Miller and Amber Eikleberry
Three were awarded to graduating seniors from First Calvary Missionary Baptist Church;  Jasmine Amiker, Dante Faucette and Angeleigh James
Two were awarded to residents pursuing undergraduate degrees; Jessica Harvey and Derrick Taylor Jr.
No applications were received by the deadline from Bradwell.
Applications for 2008 will be announced in the newspaper and in schools in February.
Sign up for our e-newsletters