By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
First Hinesville Youth Council sworn in
Hinesville Youth Council swear in
The inaugural Hinesville Youth Council were sworn into office on Sept 19. Councilmembers are David Black, Faith Cruz, Lena Hopkins-Bryant, Lola Watts, Darius Jackson, Austin Martin, Jere Peterson, and D’Imani Thomas. (Photo/Whitney Morris-Reed)

An oath of office ceremony to swear in the inaugural Hinesville Youth Council was held Sept. 19 at Hinesville City Hall following a regular Hinesville City Council meeting. The ceremony was attended by Hinesville city councilmembers, City Manager Kenneth Howard and by Mayor Allen Brown. Relatives and supporters of Youth Council Members also attended and eagerly took photos and videos. 

The youth council is the first of its kind in Hinesville. It is made up of students from both Bradwell Institute and Liberty County High School who each have a variety of goals and interests such as politics and sports. In his welcoming speech, Brown wished the students luck in their new positions and hoped that through this experience, they find out what they want to do in life. Brown stated that in his youth, he never saw himself as wanting to serve as mayor.  

The Youth Council was sworn in by the Honorable Probate Court Judge Nancy K. Aspinwall. Official Pinning was handled by Howard who enlisted the help of youth council members’ parents in a series of heartwarming moments.   

Sign up for our e-newsletters