By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Long swears in new BoE, BoC members
Long swearing in 2web
State Court Judge Jeff Arnold on Monday swears in the new members of the Long County Board of Commissioners. From left: Arnold, Willie Thompson, Kent Hall, Dwight Gordon, Robert Long and Gerald Blocker. - photo by Photo by Mike Riddle

After two elections, multiple court dates and a lot of stress on the winners and the community, Long County on Monday swore in its newly elected officials.
The night began at 5 p.m., when the incoming board of education members met at the board office. Long County State Court Judge Jeffery Arnold welcomed the newly elected officials, their families and friends to the occasion. Arnold called the honorees to the front and had them raise their right hands. The judge administered the oath of office, which they repeated. Afterward, officials and their families posed for commemorative photos.
At 7 p.m., the new BoE members met up with a larger crowd at Calvary Baptist Church in Ludowici for the board of commissioners swearing-in ceremony.
Before the formalities began, incoming District 4 Commissioner Kent Hall welcomed the crowd, and Pastor Brian Smith blessed the food and asked God to bless the new leaders and the Long County community.
Arnold once again came to the front, had the commission electees raise their right hands and administered the oath of office. When it was official, the crowd applauded. More photos were taken, and those in attendance ate a meal together.
The BoE members are: District 1, Marcus DeLoach; District 2, Dr. Carolyn Williamson; District 3, Florence Baggs; District 4, Janet Watford; and District 5 Julie Norman Dawson. The commissioners are: District 1, Gerald Blocker; District 2, Robert Long; District 3, Willie Thompson; District 4, Kent Hall; and District 5, Dwight Gordon. All of the newly elected officials will serve four-year terms that began Jan. 1, 2013.

Sign up for our e-newsletters