By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
New mayors to take over in Midway, Flemington
Flemington City Hall

The roles will be reversed for the mayor of Midway and one city council member in January.

Current city council member Levern Clancy Jr. will be the new mayor of Midway and Mayor Dr. Clemontine Washington will serve on the council.

Washington, who reached the end of her two-term limit, decided to stay involved in city politics.

Clancy defeated challenger Neal Eric Jones Sr. by a narrow 156-123 vote margin, according to the Liberty County Board of Elections.

Clancy was feeling good after learning the results on election night Tuesday.

"I will carry the city to a new level and we have a good city council," Clancy said "We’ll do some great things."

He said he and the other candidates all ran clean campaigns.

The four seats on the Midway City Council went to the top four vote getters: Henry Stevens Jr. with 183 votes, T. Gerald Lee with 182 votes, former mayor Clemontine Washington garnered 145 votes and incumbent Melice Gerace had 134 votes.

Incumbent Stanley Brown was close with 133 votes.

Stevens said he felt great about winning a seat and it was time to make a change.

Stevens will follow in the footsteps of his father, Henry Stevens Sr., who served on the city council for 32 years.

"I felt pretty good about the race. I was behind last time (I ran) but we did a different strategy this time," Stevens said.

In Flemington, Paul Hawkins ran unopposed for mayor and received 113 votes.

The six seats on Flemington City Council also went to the top vote getters in the at-large race:

Incumbent William Dasher with 71 votes, Rene Harwell with 71 votes, incumbent David Edwards, who got 69 votes, incumbent Gail Evans, 69 votes, Keith Moran with 67 votes and Donnie Smith with 61 votes.

The election results are unofficial until certified by the Georgia Secretary of State.

In Long County, voters renewed SPLOST and elected Robert Parker to fill the District 5 county commission seat vacated by Bobby Walker earlier this year.

Parker outpolled Randall Klingensmith by a 291-83 margin among District 5 voters.

SPLOST passed 484-117, according to the Long County Board of Elections.

Sign up for our e-newsletters