By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
East Liberty Legion members earn honors
Placeholder Image

One member of the East Liberty County American Legion Post 321 was elected to a district office and another was named District 1 legionnaire of the year this month during a district meeting.

A.J. Schmitt was elected one of four district junior vice commanders, while Dennis Fitzgerald, who is commander of the Riceboro-based post, was named legionnaire of the year.

Several members of Post 321 attended the First District, Department of Georgia American Legion Convention on May 6 at Tybee Island. District officers who were re-elected for the 2012-13 term of office were: District Commander George Walker from Post 154 on Tybee Island, Senior Vice Commander Greg MacDougal from Post 27 in Richmond Hill and other Junior Vice Commanders Chuck Bolen from Post 154, Richard Claxton from Post 103 in Swainsboro and Bobby Burris from Post 164 in Thunderbolt.

Other honors that were handed out:

• Joe Fienhals of the Midway Volunteer Fire Department was named volunteer firefighter of the year.

• James Ashdown with the Fort Stewart Fire Department and Liberty County Fire was named career firefighter of the year.

The Georgia Legion’s District 1 is comprised of 20 posts, including 168 in Hinesville and 321 in East Liberty.

Sign up for our e-newsletters