By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Blue Tide football team honored at awards banquet
Members of the Long County High School football team were recognized for their achievements during the 2014 season at their recent awards banquet. - photo by Mikee Riddle

The Long County High School football team recently held its annual awards banquet at the school cafeteria to recognize over 50 players and adults for their efforts.
Brendon Scott took home the night’s top prize by being named the team’s most valuable player. Mykoel Stanley also took home a prestigious award, being named the squad’s iron man.
Other players earning team awards included Michael Abram for defensive lineman; Jamin Davis, linebacker; Dequan Glover, defensive back; Jaquarius Harrison, running back; Jack Lauver, wide receiver; and Deandre Reddick, offensive lineman. 

Players who earned bars for their letterman jackets were Johnny Benavides, Donnell Campbell, Shuvon Davis, Reid Goode, Darvis Holmes, Vaughn Kelly, T.J. McCrea, Keishawn Wagner, Abram, Glover, Harrison, Reddick, Scott and Stanley.
Earning their first Blue Tide letters were Levi Bell, Carlos Nevarez, Antonio Taylor, Brett Blake, Christian Bass, Braden Buhoceckey, Tariq Carpenter, Kyree Coprick, Tavon Ghant, Javonte Harris, Jonathan Holton, Logan Hyde, Darius James, Andrew Jones, Michael Ross, Xavier Stapleton, Antonio Taylor, Deaondre Volcy, D’Andre Watkins, Chris Wells, Gerald Williams, Emil Wright, Davis and Lauver.
Picking up participation awards were Isaac Abram, Ryan Brown, Michael Chigawa, Marico Chihuahua, Demonte Cooper, Eric Crawford, Marquis Dixon, Alex Duenes, Brandon Edwards, Jonathan Elder, Quentin Facen, Kordel Plummer, Avery Gray, Antonio Grubbs, Joey Guadalupe, Keonte Harris, Dakota Humphrey, Liam Kelly, Joseph Kisel, Lewis Marshall, Quiency Minnifield, Elijah Montijo, Floyd Morris, Nick Odum, Jaquaye Person, Josie Rodriguez, Jamel Sloan, Bowen Smiley, Tripp Stapleton, Cameron Taylor, Elijah Wright and Holden Riddle.
Adult volunteers recognized with appreciation plaques were Brian Blake, Joe Kuzlik and Michael Abram for working the first-down chains during the games; Brian Hill for announcing the games; and Marc Roe for managing the game clock.
Kadee Dasher, Eric Sizemore, Becky Sizemore, Chester Wagner, Emily Lauver and Nancy Garrett were given plaques for their continuous support.

Sign up for our e-newsletters