By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
FPCA basketball cleans up in region
FB IMG 1487568360151
FPCA All-Region players Cecilla Graham, Cassandra Ruff, John Killough, George Mitchell, Trayvon Harris, Khalyn Weekley, Simon Steele, Isaiah Scott, and Coach of the Year Shane Smith. (Mary Kathryn Whitney not pictured)

The Highlanders are once again celebrating. On Friday night at Brewton Parker College in Mount Vernon, the FPCA basketball program won big games and big awards. The FPCA girls beat out Twiggs Academy 25-13.  With this win the Lady Landers locked up third place in the region. The Highlander boys won against Memorial Day school 69-40, earning FPCA their 9th consecutive region championship. 

The Lady Landers and Twiggs struggled to score in the first half.  Starting the third quarter at 9-7 (FPCA), the Lady Landers would quicken the pace of the game and began to wear their opponent out. Aggressively defending their goal, the Lady Landers kept Twiggs to one point in the fourth quarter.  Cassandra Ruff had 11 points, Cecilia Graham 6, Mary Kathryn Whitney 4, and Jelissa Estrada 4.  The girls will travel to Cordele on Tuesday to face Oak Mountain in the first round of the state playoffs. 

The FPCA boys faced Memorial Day School for the Region championship.  Beating their opponent twice earlier in the season did not influence the Highlanders to go easy.  After a slow start in the first quarter, the Highlanders regrouped and took over.  By the end of the game, the boys had an almost thirty point lead over what was their toughest region opponent. Individual stats are unavailable at this time.  This win earns FPCA their 9th consecutive region championship. The top spot gives FPCA the opportunity to host their first round state game.  They will play at Bradwell Institute on Wednesday against Lagrange Academy.  Game starts at 7:00 PM. 

Along with their Region championship, FPCA had nine players named All Region.  For the Lady Highlanders, Graham, Ruff, and Whitney were named.  On the boys side, John Killough, George Mitchell, Trayvon Harris, Khalyn Weekley, Simon Steele, and Isaiah Scott were awarded.  Also, Coach Shane Smith was awarded his 4th consecutive Coach of the Year title. 

The Lady Highlanders are coached by Rosby Frasier and Lee Christensen.  The boys are coached by Smith and David Linderman.  

Sign up for our e-newsletters