By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Magazine adds to players' honors
IMG 6277
Long County team awards, sponsored by Hinesville Ford, went to offensive MVP Vanda Vereen, right, and defensive MVP Nick Stock, standing with with Blue Tide coach Ron Flott. - photo by Photo by John Wood

Several players from area schools were honored at the Depot in Waycross at the fourth annual In the Game Awards Banquet.
In the Game High School Sports magazine, Southeast Georgia edition covers 17 schools in Coastal and Southeast Georgia.
Liberty County linebacker Raekwon McMillan was on the September cover and Panther freshman Richard LeCounte is on the December cover, the magazine’s first cover featuring an underclassman.
Bradwell Institute football coach Adam Carter also is featured in the December Coach’s Profile segment
The banquet recognizes each team’s MVP as decided by the coaches. The offensive, defensive, special teams, academic athlete and coach of the year awards also are handed out.
This year’s speaker, former University of Georgia All America tight end Troy Sadowski reminded the athletes that playing with character and commitment is as important as athletic ability.
Sadowski played tight end in the NFL for 10 years.
It was a reunion for Liberty County Panthers coach Kirk Warner, though he didn’t know Sadowski was going to be there. Warner and Sadowski were tight ends at the University of Georgia, including on the last team that Vince Dooley coached.
“The 2013 annual football awards banquet was a huge success,” SEGA In the Game Magazine publisher Shawn Smoak said.
Bradwell Institute, Liberty County High School and Long County offensive and defensive MVP awards were sponsored by Hinesville Ford.
Bradwell Institute’s offensive MVP was Hubert Anderson. Shawn Maschino was the defensive MVP. Panther quarterback Jordan Waters was Liberty’s offensive MVP, and McMillan was the defensive MVP.
Long County quarterback Vanda Veeren was the Blue Tide offensive MVP. Nick Stock was the defensive MVP.
Just hours after McMillan announced he was going to Ohio State University, he was in Waycross to be named the Okefoneekee Technical College defensive player of the year. The award was presented by college president Dr. Glenn Deibert.
“There is no doubt that the 2013 football season for the SEGA coverage area of In the Game had more individual talent than any season in recent memory and it all started with Liberty County’s Raekwon McMillan,” Smoak said.
In the Game High School Sports magazine is available at area Flash Foods.

Sign up for our e-newsletters