By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Tigers honored at soccer banquet
Placeholder Image

They donned suits and fancy dresses but it wasn’t the prom. In fact, the group that filled Bradwell Institute’s cafeteria last Thursday would be more likely to use a dance floor for an impromptu soccer game than for cutting a rug.

The Tiger athletes gathered for a banquet to celebrate their successful seasons. First-year soccer coaches Adam Bryie and Tommy Oglesby handed out first-year, second-year and third-year letters, and presented senior awards and honor awards before dinner was served.

Under coach Bryie, the Lady Tigers made their first trip to the playoffs and finished 8-7 for the season. Oglesby took his boys team to a 7-7 finish.

Tigers Justin Ganger, Juan Ortiz, Christopher De La Torre, Absalom Dowling, Eric Cooper, Mathew Aiton, Ethan Ewing, Will Davis and Emani Philip received their first-year letters. Cooper also was named most improved player for the season.

Kris Lewis and Alberto Llavano received their second-year letters and Llavon was named best defensive player of the year.

Receiving third-year letters were Brian Jackson, David Miller and Shane Smith. Miller was voted best offensive player of the year.

Outgoing seniors Cody Graham and Michael Subject were given engraved plaques and Subject was honored as the MVP of the year.

For the Lady Tigers, ninth-graders Ashley Riles, Breanna Lindsey, Britany Shaul and Erina Veliz earned first-year letters.

Salamisina Matavao, Miranda Pizzino, Megan Aiton, Rebekah Smith, Ashley Mercer, Kaylie Durham, Jessica Bunn and Christina Tenorio received second-year letters.

Receiving third-year letters were Kayla DeJesus, Suede Jones, Rebecca Lee and Danielle Durham.

Outgoing seniors Eriko Smith, Allison Burill, Danielle Jacobs, Emily Nunan and Annie Collins were honored with plaques.

Shaul was named most improved player. Smith was named MVP. DeJesus was named the best defensive player of the year, and Burill was the best offensive player of the year.

Sign up for our e-newsletters