By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
All female Mayor and Council honored
Walthourville set precedent
Placeholder Image


To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web browser that supports HTML5 video

On July 21, the first mayor and city council of Walthourville, all women, were honored by the citizens of their community and the Liberty County Historical Society with a celebration, presentation and a historical marker. The marker read:
City of Walthourville History
Walthourville, Georgia
Incorporated in 1974
"Organized by women, supported by men," honoring Mayor Lyndol Anderson.
The first mayor of the City of Walthourville, who was appointed by Governor Jimmy Carter in 1974. On April 10, 1974, in the presence of a few friends, Attorney J. Noel Osteen administered the Oath of Office to the Mayor, Mrs. Lyndol Anderson and Councilwomen Mrs. Faye Booth, Mrs. Maxine Gaskin, Mrs. Carrie Kent, Mrs. Ardith Herbert, Miss Celia Davis and to the clerk, Mrs. Molene Burke at the Walthourville Polling house in Walthourville and was officially elected in the first city election held on December 4, 1974.
The first act of Mrs. Anderson was to donate her $250 a month salary for the betterment of the city and her all female council quickly followed her example by donating their salaries as well. These monies helped to finance the installation of the first 40 streetlights in the city. Mrs. Anderson and her council were also responsible for the purchase of the first water system for one dollar, the first city license plates, appointing the first voter registration board, organizing the first city clean up day, the first speed limit signs, and purchasing the building which presently houses the city hall and post office.
Mrs. Anderson and her council were also honored on national television on the CBS Evening News with Walter Cronkite in 1974 for their accomplishments.

Sign up for our e-newsletters