By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Native hits Navy's highest enlisted rank
Other honors listed later in story
Ed AP Floyd
Evanne Floyd was named a Presidential Scholar at William Woods University and his flanked by her parents Alicia and Jim Floyd
Hinesville native David Lofton, a United States sailor, was recently promoted to the rank of master chief petty officer, the highest enlisted rank one can achieve in the Navy.
Lofton is currently stationed in Minneapolis, Minn., where he serves as the chief recruiter for the Navy Recruiting Headquarters there. He currently supervises Navy recruiting for 50 stations in seven states.  
Lofton enlisted into the Navy in August 1979 and has been affiliated with either reserve or active duty components of the Navy ever since.
His previous assignments include: USS Exultant, USS Leader, Navy Reserve Recruiting Station Charleston, Commander Naval Reserve Recruiting Command in New Orleans, Naval Air Station Atlanta, Navy Recruiting Area Northeast in Washington, D.C., as well as other recruiting tours in Orlando and Jacksonville.
His personal awards include the Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medal (four awards), Navy Achievement Medal (four awards), Global War on Terrorism Service Medal, Expert Rifle and Pistol Medals, as well as various unit and campaign awards.

Altamaha Technical College students from the Liberty County area earned academic honors during winter quarter 2007:
President’s list
Shirley G. Barnes, Darnell Emanuel, Daniel S. Gross, Jessica L. Howard, Roberto H. Martinez, Philip C. Parham and William J. Rodriquez.
Vice president’s list
Joshua Obrock
The president’s list recognizes students who earn a perfect 4.0 gpa, and the vice president’s list consists of students earning a minimum 3.5 gpa. To be eligible for these lists, a student must have completed a minimum of 12 credit hours during the quarter.
Academic achievement
Alexander Alvarez, Daywon L. Alvin, Melodie Campbell, Robert W. Cardinal, Helen R. Curtis, Nicholas J. English, Bryan L. Harrell, Lisa Ann McGeer, Brian O. Nathan, Pamela H. Schmidt, Sharon D. Stumps, Tamickey J. Thomas, Janice Wells, Brent A. Zavisho and Patrick Zuhowski.
Part-time students who completed less than 12 credit hours, who earned a 3.5 GPA or better are recognized for academic achievement.

Jonathan Johnson of Hinesville, son of Dr. John Paul Johnson and Cynthia E. Johnson, received a bachelor’s of science degree from Emory College of Emory University in Atlanta during its 162nd commencement ceremony on May 14.

Ria Yu, a student at Agnes Scott College from Hinesville, earned the departmental award for excellence in religious studies for the 2007 academic year.
She is a member of the class of 2008 at Agnes Scott, an independent national liberal arts and sciences college for women founded in 1889.
“These students represent the best and brightest at Agnes Scott, and our annual Awards Day Convocation provides the opportunity to acknowledge their wide-ranging achievements,” Vice President of Academic Affairs Rosemary Levy Zumwalt said.
“Ria is among prestigious company. Her fellow awardees come from all over the nation and all over the world. They exemplify the tradition of extraordinary student scholarship and leadership at Agnes Scott,” Zumwalt said.
Yu, a 2003 graduate of Herschel Jenkins High School in Savannah, is the daughter of Aleta Zipperer and Ben Zipperer of Valdosta.
The award goes to a religious studies major who has a combination of the highest grade point average and leadership in the department and in her classes.

Laura Gaulden Oakley, a 1957 graduate of the old Liberty County High School, has returned to the area.
After graduation she lived in Patterson, N.J., and then to Cleveland, Ohio. She has returned to Georgia and resides in Savannah, working as a beautician at Savannah’s Ruby Salon.

Air Force Airman Vincent E. Hopson has graduated from basic military training at Lackland Air Force Base, San Antonio, Texas.
He is the son of Vincent and Carmen Hopson of Ludowici and a 2003 graduate of Long County High School.

MACON — Area residents were named to the dean’s or president’s list at Mercer University for the spring semester:
Ashley Johnson from Hinesville, College of Liberal arts, dean’s list
James Bargeron from Midway, School of Engineering, president’s list
Inclusion on the dean’s and president’s lists requires students to meet rigorous grade point average standards specific to their school within the University.

Evanne Floyd of Hinesville, received the Presidential Scholar Award from William Woods University.  
She is the daughter of James and Alicia Floyd. She intends to major in communications at William Woods.
Presidential Scholars receive $10,000 annually ($7,500 for commuters). Recipients must have a minimum ACT of 27 or SAT of 1210 (critical reading and math) and a minimum 3.5 grade point average. They also must demonstrate qualities of leadership and service.
The university is an independent, professions-oriented, liberal arts-based institution Fulton, Mo.
Sign up for our e-newsletters