By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Riceboro man heads Legion district
Placeholder Image
East Liberty County American Legion Post 321 recently hosted the First District, Department of Georgia, annual convention at which one of the local members was elected to lead the district July 1 through June 2009.
Post Commander Dennis E. Fitzgerald was chosen commander of the 20 Legion posts in the district which stretches from Swainsboro to Darien.
Officers chosen during the district convention at Midway City Hall include Fitzgerald, Senior Vice Commander George Walker, Post 154 (Tybee Island) Vice Commanders Greg McDougal, Post 27 (Richmond Hill) Donald Hall, Post 103 (Swainsboro) Vernin Smart, Post 135 (Savannah) and AJ Schmidt, Post 321 (Midway)
Fitzgerald also appointed the following legionnair offiers; Tom Rodefer, Post 321, adjutant; Tom Thornton, Post 90, finance officer; Matt Dillon, Post 168, sergeant-at-arms; H. Lamar Faircloth, Post 188, service officer; BJ Clark, Post 164, historian; and Keith Fordham, Post 188, chaplain.
Fitzgerald encourages all eligible veterans to become active Legion. He can be reached at 980-5204 or
Sign up for our e-newsletters