By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Raffensperger, Eaton win runoff
Election generic

Brad Raffensperger won the Dec. 4 runoff election for the Georgia Secretary of State seat. Raffensperger took 51.87 percent of the vote statewide. Democratic challenger John Barrow garnered 48.03 percent, according to the Secretary of State website.

Incumbent Chuck Eaton, a Republican, will retain his District 3 seat on the Georgia Public Service Commission. The commission regulates the state’s utilities. It’s mission, according to, is, “to exercise its authority and influence to ensure that consumers receive safe, reliable and reasonably priced telecommunications, electric and natural gas services from financially viable and technically competent companies.”

Eaton took 51.83 percent of the vote statewide. His opponent, Democrat Lindy Miller, took 48.17 percent of the vote, according to

Long county voters reflected the statewide runoff numbers, favoring the GOP, but a majority of voters in Liberty showed their preference for the color blue.

In Liberty County, Raffensperger received just 32.22 percent of the vote, and Barrow took 67.78 percent.

Long County voters gave Raffensperger 59.56 percent of the vote, and Barrow received 40.44 percent.

In Liberty County, Eaton took 33.67 percent of the vote, and Miller received 66.33 percent.

Long County voters gave Eaton 61.53 percent of the vote and Miller had 38.47 percent.

State election officials stress that these runoff results are unofficial and totals may not include all absentee or provisional ballots, according to

Sign up for our e-newsletters