By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Voters head to polls Tuesday
Placeholder Image

Georgia voters will cast ballots in the state primary election Tuesday. Polls are open from 7 a.m.-7 p.m.
“Voters will have to declare their party, Republican or Democrat, when they arrive at the polls,” Liberty County Supervisor of Elections Ella Golden said.
She said voters will vote for the offices of governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, school superintendent, attorney general and various commissioners, including insurance, labor and agriculture.
The general election will be Nov. 2. A special election to fill the Liberty County sheriff’s seat will be held the same day, Golden said.
The last day to register to vote in the general election is Oct. 4. Voter registration forms are available at every Liberty County municipality’s city hall, the main voter election office in Hinesville and the local library or online at
Gubernatorial candidates from both parties have crowded the field for the state’s primary.
Democratic candidates running for governor are State Attorney General Thurbert Baker, Bill Bolton, Randal Mangham, Roy Barnes, Carl Camon, DuBose Porter and David Poythress.

The seven Republicans vying for governor in the July primary include Eric Johnson, Jeff Chapman, Nathan Deal, Karen Handel, Ray McBerry, John Oxendine and Otis Putnam.
The two Democrats running for lieutenant governor are Tricia Carpenter McCraken and Carol Dubose. The winner of the primary will face Republican incumbent Casey Cagle in the fall.
Democratic secretary of state candidates are Gail Buckner, Gary Horlacher, Michael Mills, Angela Moore and Georganna Sinkfield. Incumbent Brian Kemp will face fellow Republican Doug MacGinnitie in the primary.
The three Republicans running for attorney general are Sam Olens, Preston Smith and Max Wood. The two Democratic candidates are Rob Teilhet and Ken Hodges.
State school superintendent candidates are Republicans John D. Barge and Richard Woods. Beth Farokhi, Joe Martin and Brian Westlake are running on the Democratic ticket.
Nine Republicans are competing for the commissioner of insurance seat: Dennis Cain, Rick Collum, Seth Harp, Ralph Hudgens, Tom Knox, John Mamalakis, Stephen Dale Northington, Gerry Purcell and Maria Sheffield. The lone Democrat running is Mary Squires.
Republicans Gary Black and Darwin Carter will compete for commissioner of agriculture, a seat long held by Democrat Tommy Irvin. Irvin has been Georgia’s commissioner of agriculture since 1969. He was elected to his 10th four-year term in 2006. Irvin is considered the longest-serving agriculture commissioner in the country and the longest-serving state official in Georgia. Democrat J.B. Powell is also vying for the seat.
Primary candidates for commissioner of labor are Republicans Mark Butler and Melvin Everson and Democrats Terry Coleman and Darryl Hicks.
Primary election candidates facing off for the U.S. Senate seat now held by incumbent Republican Sen. Johnny Isakson are Democrats R.J. Hadley and Michael Thurmond. The winner of the primary will face Isakson in November’s general election.
There are six accepted forms of voter ID. Voters should bring a Georgia driver’s license, a valid state or federal government-issued photo ID, a valid employee photo ID from any local, state or federal government, a valid U.S. passport, a valid U.S. military photo ID or a valid tribal photo ID.
For more information, call 876-3310.


Sign up for our e-newsletters