By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Golfers fund scholarships
Organizers of Saturdays Henry Hank White Memorial Golf Tournament stand with recipients of scholarships, from left, Derek White, William Scaggs, Christian White, Mayor Allen Brown, Hank White Jr., Mary Wilson, Tishara Gilliard, Heaven Brunson and Derrick Taylor. - photo by Photo provided.

The annual Henry “Hank” White Memorial Golf Tournament Saturday at Cherokee Rose Country Club honored the seven recipients of the 2016 White scholarship and raised money for next year’s scholars.

This year’s scholarships went to graduates of Bradwell Institute, Liberty County High School, First Calvary Missionary Baptist Church and the community. Winners received $1,000 each.

Winners recognized were Will Scaggs, who will attend University of North Georgia; Christian White, who will attend Georgia Southern; Mary Wilson, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State; Tishara Gilliard, Albany State; Heaven Brunson, Savannah State; Jordan Graham, Georgia; and Aijalon Austin, Bethune Cookman.

The golfers and students were welcomed by Henry White Jr., son of the late Hank White.
“We see the finished product,” he said, referring to the students. “I look out there and see a lot of familiar faces. We thank you for all of your support and look forward to a great tournament.”

Derrick Taylor, tournament chairperson, echoed White’s comments. He introduced Hinesville Mayor Allen Brown of Hinesville.
Brown said that tournament’s namesake and his dad, who served as mayor of Hinesville for years, were friends.

“I got to know him through my dad and we became good friends,” Brown said. “Hank White was a great man, great American, and a great Hinesvillian. He was very generous, a giver, not a taker.
“I’ve played in most of the tournaments. Thank you for staying with the tournaments for 12 years because many start these type of events for a couple of years, but don’t continue.”

Taylor said, “These scholarship recipients are the future of today and tomorrow and these young people are the benefactors of this tournament.”
He had the recipients introduce themselves, their schools and goals.
Following the tournament, a meal prepared by First Calvary Missionary Baptist Church was served as the winners were announced and door prizes handed out.

First place team members (-19) were Clay Kicklighter, Joseph F. Whitaker, Joseph H. Whitaker and Kyle Lott; second place (-17) went to Ricky Kennedy, Christian Lamont, Ralph Perez and Shannon Sapp; third place (-15) went to Charles Scott, Felton Dickens, Martin Carryl and David Jones.

Prizes were also awarded to Charles Turner for the longest drive on hole 14, straightest drive to David Jones on hole 16, longest putt to Dennis Kennedy on hole 18, closest to pin to Joseph Whitaker on hole 7, and closest to pin to Earnest Sturdivant on hole 17.

The committee acknowledged the support of Cherokee Rose Country Club, sponsors, prizes and money donors and golfers.

Sign up for our e-newsletters