By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Hall of Fame inductees selected
Placeholder Image

Among this year’s Liberty County Sports Hall of Fame inductees is Sheriff J. Don Martin, who was chosen for his contributions to the Harvey Overton Bradwell Tiger Football Booster Club.

After narrowing the pool of potential inductees to five, the hall’s board of directors and committee members announced they had chosen one Liberty County High School graduate and four Bradwell Institute graduates.

Hall of Fame Chairman Craig Stafford said the classes represented by the inductees range from 1957 to 2004. The honorees are Cedric Dickerson, of Liberty County High School, and Ronnie Brett, Delano Little, Gary Guyton and Martin, all from Bradwell.

Entering its sixth year, the Hall of Fame will bring its total number of inductees to 50.

Next week, the Courier will feature biographies of the inductees in a two-part story.

The Hall of Fame banquet is set for 7 p.m., Thursday Dec. 10, at Club Stewart on Fort Stewart. Tickets must be purchased in advance from Gerald DeLoach. Call him at 876-2878 or e-mail Tickets are $15.

Sign up for our e-newsletters